April 8, 2008
San Francisco Pride Membership Selects Erick ArgŁello as 2008 Individual Grand Marshal
5 More Grand Marshals to Be Selected by May 6

San Francisco, CA – April 8, 2008 – At tonight’s meeting of the General Membership of the San Francisco LGBT Pride Celebration Committee the second Individual Grand Marshal for 2008 was elected. Erick Arguello has been named a Grand Marshal for the 2008 event.

While only one person was ultimately chosen, also nominated by the Membership were Angela Davis, Becky Benton, Joyce Pierson and Tony Lopez.

Nominations began at the February Membership meeting and ended at the March meeting. Voting then took place tonight.

The San Francisco LGBT Pride Celebration Committee is an ever-evolving member- and community-based organization. The direction of the Pride Celebration Committee is largely determined by the membership. The membership is a voting body that meets monthly with the Board of Directors to make decisions to further the mission of the Committee. Members of San Francisco Pride have a direct voice in shaping the organization.

Member Alfredo Pedroza nominated Mr. Arguello and said at tonight’s membership meeting, “Erick has been working steadily over the past ten years to make safe spaces for the LGBT population in the Latino community - notably creating ‘safe’ areas in the Mission neighborhood through community building.”

Members of the public previously nominated and selected two Grand Marshals and Pink Brick recipient. Voting took place from March 1 through March 31 and the results were verified and made public at the April 1 Board of Directors meeting and the top vote recipients were:

Evan Low for Individual Community Grand Marshal
Gay Asian Pacific Alliance (GAPA) for Organizational Community Grand Marshal
Bill O’Reilly to receive the Pink Brick (the infamous Pink Brick Award is a faux 'award' presented each year to a person or organization that has done significant harm to LGBT communities)

Lindsey Jones, Executive Director said, “Erick will join a highly diverse and esteemed group of past Grand Marshals and as is tradition, he will serve as an ambassador of the San Francisco Pride Celebration and Parade. We are excited to have Erick join this remarkable group of community leaders.”

Five more Grand Marshals will be selected by May 6th and they are:

Lifetime Achievement Grand Marshal selected by the Board of Directors

Electoral College (a body of past Grand Marshals) will select an Individual Grand Marshal

The Board of Directors will name three final Individual Grand Marshals at the May 6th meeting


About San Francisco LGBT Pride Celebration Committee (SFLGBTPCC)
The San Francisco LGBT Pride Celebration Committee (www.sfpride.org) is a not-for-profit membership organization founded to produce the San Francisco LGBT Pride Celebration & Parade and dedicated to education, commemoration of LGBT heritage and celebration of LGBT culture and liberation.  A world leader in the Pride Movement, SFLGBTPCC is also a grant-giving organization through its Community Partners Program. Since 1997, SFLGBTPCC has granted over $1.2 million dollars from proceeds of the Pride Celebration and Parade to local not-for-profit LGBT organizations and those not-for-profit organizations working on issues related to HIV/AIDS or breast cancer.

About the 2008 San Francisco LGBT Pride Celebration & Parade
This year marks the 38th anniversary of the San Francisco LGBT Pride Celebration and Parade.  This year’s theme is “United by Pride, Bound for Equality” and the event will be held over the weekend of June 28/29, 2008. With over 200 parade contingents, 300 exhibitors, and 20 community-run entertainment stages and venues, San Francisco LGBT Pride Celebration and Parade is the largest LGBT event in the nation. For more information please visit our website at: www.sfpride.org.